Posted in At Home, Blog

Bedtime Bonding

We are a moderately large-sized family in quite a small-sized house. A 1,000 square-foot semi-detached with a small fenced backyard. My husband works from home, and we homeschool in the basement. At work, at school and at play, we get a lot of use out of our tiny home.

So many people, upon looking at our four children and our tiny house, remark that we’ll probably be moving to upsize soon. While I would love to move, I am more interested in upsizing the backyard than upsizing the house.

Many people feel that it is imperative for each child to have their own room, signifying independence and privacy. But I love giving my children a built-in boost to their friendships with one another.

boys' room
boys before lights out

The boys used to have a bunk bed, but they always ended up asleep together in the bottom bunk! I love hearing their conversations (which aren’t as hushed as they imagine them to be) from my bedroom across the hall. Tonight, long after lights out, I heard Encyclopedia tell Safari Boots that he wants to be a missionary when he grows up.

Safari responded, “I like missionaries. But I want to be a knight.”

He is going to love studying Medieval History next year!

A little later, I overheard Safari say to Encyclopedia, “I have a secret. I’m not telling anyone.”

“What is it?”

“It’s a secret. I’m not telling you, either.”

“But Safari, you have to tell somebody. If you don’t tell anybody, it’s not a secret. It’s just a thought.”

I had to smile, wondering if Hudson really believed his argument, or if it was just his best attempt at persuasion.120509-1043b

The girls are still really babies, so I don’t hear nighttime whispers from them, but I often hear Shiny Boots singing her own lullabies to Baby Busy Boots. I don’t let them sleep together for safety reasons, since Busy is still an infant. But Shiny often asks to switch cribs for the night, sleeping in Busy’s crib, with Busy’s blanket and pillow, while Busy takes her crib. I think this is her way of wanting to feel close to her sister.

What a lovely thing, to hear one’s children telling each other secrets, dreams and aspirations in the darkness. This is something that will go on all throughout their childhoods, and it will cement their relationship with one another. They are so blessed to have each other, and I love this part of parenting them. God has truly blessed me, and I am so thankful.

Author:

Christian wife and homeschooling mother of five children, ages 1 through 9 years. Recently diagnosed with Ehlers Danlos. Trusting in Jesus for His plan for my life, and for my family. He was gracious to save my husband and myself 5 and 6 years ago, respectively. And really, He saved me just in time. Because how could I ever have handled this illness without Him?

2 thoughts on “Bedtime Bonding

  1. I couldn’t agree more. I have known since I was pregnant with my 2nd kiddo, my girls would share a room. I want them to form a bond that becomes a backbone for one another. Someone to lean on when I can’t be there and I’m with you. I think that sharing a space as personal as a bedroom is one of the best ways to do it. Smaller house, more land, that’s my dream too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

