Posted in At Homeschool, Blog

Homeschooling with Little Ones Part 1

The question that I hear almost as much as the socialization question is this: How do you manage getting any school done with all those little ones?

In response, I present to you my Real-Life No-Holds-Barred Post-it-Like-it-is Homeschool Schedule*

*this schedule varies from day-to-day so much, that, in fact, it has never yet repeated itself. But it goes something as follows: 

  • Bible, laundry, memory verses.166
  • Change a diaper, feed the baby, make breakfast.
  • Sing some math songs, mediate a dispute or two, do the dishes.
  • A little reading, a little playtime.
  • More laundry, another diaper change, another feeding.
  • Spelling, grammar, kiss a booboo.
  • Make a snack, do a science experiment, and clean it up.
  • Get everybody outside, listen to an audio sermon while you do some housework.
  • Find some pee on the living room floor, and clean it up.
  • Do some detective work to find the child with soiled pants.
  • Clean him up, make lunch, clean it up.
  • Feed the baby, change a diaper, do some fractions, hunt for bugs.
  • Storytime, naptime, rinse and repeat.

 

Add in some character training, some history, some household chores, and are you exhausted yet?

The most important thing I have learned is that I am not a classroom teacher, and I shouldn’t try to be. School at my house is going to look different from institutional school. It will even look different from school at your house. And that is okay. More than okay, in fact. It is exactly as it should be.

God made us all different, as different as the flowers of the fields, the birds of the air, and the creatures of the seas. He is a God of infinite variety and creativity. He made a world bursting with life and colour, all things bringing glory to Him in their own unique ways. And He saw that it was good.Cragg & Hudson, best buds

God put children in families, not in orphanages. It is part of His design that we are meant to be different from each other. We are different in how we raise our children, and we should be different in how we educate them.

Every homeschool teacher will choose different methods and different materials to suit very different children in different households. So the way in which I manage my day-to-day with little ones is obviously going to be different from the way in which you manage yours.

In answer to the leading question, then, I really just do the best I can to go with the flow of my particular household — and my best advice to you is just to do the best you can to go with the flow of yours.

That said, if you have some practical tips to share in the comments, please do. I will share some that I personally find helpful in my next post.

Author:

Christian wife and homeschooling mother of five children, ages 2 through 10 years. Recently diagnosed with Ehlers Danlos. Trusting in Jesus for His plan for my life, and for my family. He was gracious to save my husband and myself 6 and 7 years ago, respectively. And really, He saved me just in time. Because how could I ever have handled this illness without Him?

2 thoughts on “Homeschooling with Little Ones Part 1

  1. I love your schedule! That’s real life. I have a schedule. It’s on a nice spreadsheet, stating exactly what each person should be doing each hour. It’s posted on the wall. Then, my 5-year-old pointed to the schedule and asked me at the end of the school year, “When are we gonna do this?”

    Like

    1. Hilarious! My seven-year-old recently observed, “It seems like we make a lot of charts for what we’re supposed to do, but we never do them.” For a moment, I felt indignant and defensive, then I just laughed. He’s not trying to pick on me, just observing what he sees. And can I really say he’s wrong?

      Like

Leave a Reply

