Posted in Blog, In the Word, Little Boots

Does God Love Satan?

There is no philosopher so exacting as a seven-year-old with his own Bible. I had a few hours alone in the car with my eldest (7) and my youngest (1) today, and while the baby slept, Encyclopedia and I had a good talk.

Encyclopedia Boots: God loves everyone, right? So does He love Satan?

Me: I really don’t know, but I don’t think so. I think He must have loved him once, when He created him, because we know that Satan was the morning star.

How you are fallen from heaven, O Day Star, son of Dawn! How you are cut down to the ground, you who laid the nations low!

Isaiah 14:12

Satan  knew God in heaven, in a way that we can’t know Him here on earth. Yet he freely chose to rebel against Him. We know that God hates sin and pride and arrogance, and Satan has chosen not only to do, but in effect, to personify these things:

There are six things that the LORD hates, seven that are an abomination to him: haughty eyes, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood, a heart that devises wicked plans, feet that make haste to run to evil, a false witness who breathes out lies, and one who sows discord among brothers.

Proverbs 6:16-20

The Bible says that light has no fellowship with darkness (2 Corinthians 6:14), so I think that God has no fellowship or love for Satan, who is evil. We were separated from God through our sin. He couldn’t look at us.  I think Satan has separated Himself from God’s love through his choices.

Encyclopedia : But God still loved us while we were yet sinners. (Romans 5:8).

Me: Yes, but I think Satan’s sin is different, since He was already in Heaven when He sinned. His choice was so much more of an affront to God, since he was one of His angels.

Encyclopedia : If Satan got cast out of heaven, can people ever be cast out of heaven?

Me: No, I don’t think so, because we are making our choice now, on earth, to follow God.

My seven-year-old, as I’ve said before, is a deep thinker. As you can see, my answer got weaker towards the end of this segment of conversation. I think I’m right, but I just don’t know how to support it. I would love any thoughts you may have, to maybe take me a little further, or even redirect me if I’m going off-base!

I have a feeling I’m going to have to be very diligent in studying theology with this little student in the house.

Author:

Christian wife and homeschooling mother of five children, ages 2 through 10 years. Recently diagnosed with Ehlers Danlos. Trusting in Jesus for His plan for my life, and for my family. He was gracious to save my husband and myself 6 and 7 years ago, respectively. And really, He saved me just in time. Because how could I ever have handled this illness without Him?

5 thoughts on “Does God Love Satan?

  1. This brings back wonderful memories of the spiritual conversations I had with my daughter when she was young. What a blessed car ride, and what a blessing to have a spiritually sensitive and inquisitive son. And good job, mom, for giving such wise and thoughtful answers! I think you are right on track. The only thing I would add is that God always stands ready to forgive, “If we confess our sins He is faithful and just to forgive our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” So, I think if Satan repented and asked for forgiveness, God would forgive him. But Satan won’t because he is the epitome of pride and pride never asks forgiveness.

    I like your point that Satan’s sin is different because he sinned in heaven. The Lord bless you and your sweet family.

    Like

    1. Do you really think Satan still has a chance to repent, but won’t? I’m not sure that he still does have the chance. I have this idea that we exist in space and time in a different way than do “eternal” beings like angels and those who have died and gone on to eternal life.

      Our earthly, linear way of thinking and being (Action A leading to Consequence B to New Action C to New Consequence D — all as separate and chronological actions, with some independence from each other) is different for the beings in “heavenly places.”

      I think that eternal must mean that their concept of space and time must be different. More everywhere and all-at-once. So that an important decision, like whether to obey God, is done once and for all, not many times over, as it is here.

      Otherwise, how do we know that some won’t change their minds and get kicked out of heaven at some later date?

      I’m not sure that I’m right, and I would have no idea how to explain these impressions to a seven-year-old, but I think that this qualitative dimensional difference must exist between the earthly and heavenly realms. That must be what eternal is.

      I think.

      Maybe.

      Or not.

      Who knows, really?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You make a good point that things may be different in the heavenly realm. I was coming at it from the perspective that God’s character is consistent, and a big part of His character is love, forgiveness, grace and mercy. Of all the things He could have revealed about Himself to Moses, He chose to proclaim, “The Lord, the Lord, the compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness, maintaining love to thousands, and forgiving wickedness, rebellion and sin. Yet he does not leave the guilty unpunished; he punishes the children and their children for the sin of the parents to the third and fourth generation.” (Exodus 34:6b-7)

        I think kids need to know that no one and nothing can snatch them from God’s hand and that He is faithful to forgive anything and everything. (It doesn’t mean there won’t be all kinds of consequences, though).

        God forgives wickedness, rebellion and sin and Satan certainly is rebelliously wicked. But you are probably right that it makes a difference that Satan was created in heaven and we were created on earth.

        I don’t think we are at risk of getting kicked out of heaven, because, unlike Satan, we have been tried and tested in this bootcamp called earth. Perhaps God created us here, rather than there, to prevent another rebellion in the heavens. By the time we arrive, this earth will have bruised and beaten the pride right out of us. Unlike Satan we each have to chose God/heaven in spite of worldly temptations. Salvation for us is a hard won battle.

        Our suppositions are moot, though, because we know the end of the story and we know that he doesn’t repent. Scripture tells us that in the end the whole unholy trinity – the devil, the beast and the false prophet – get thrown into the lake of fire. (Revelation 20:10) Hallelujah!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, hallelujah!

        This is a neat idea:

        Perhaps God created us here, rather than there, to prevent another rebellion in the heavens.

        But however it all works, you’re right. It’s all moot, and we can’t find out ’till we get there!

        Like

    2. Thanks so much for your lovely comments. It’s nice to hear that it brings back memories of conversations with your daughter. It really was a blessed car ride. So nice, and so unexpected to have these precious moments happen in the day during the most mundane times!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

