Posted in At Home, Blog

Week 6

At six weeks, the baby’s heart will be beating, and it will begin its first (unfelt) movements.

We opted out of the early dating ultrasound this time. I really feel called to walk in faith during this pregnancy, with less reliance on medical interventions. That’s not to say that we won’t make use of medical interventions when they seem necessary, just that I don’t want to turn to them at every possible instance. This early dating ultrasound, for instance, really serves no necessary medical purpose. It can reassure us that there is a heartbeat, and that things are going well, but there is really nothing to be done to assist the baby if things are not going well. It’s purpose is only to give us a due date, which we could also get if we waited for the 18-week ultrasound (or, indeed, if we waited for the date to arrive!)

I am not against early dating ultrasounds. We have always opted to have them in the past. But this pregnancy is different. It is like a surprise gift from God, and I want it to remain a surprise as much as possible.

Of course, my other pregnancies were also precious gifts from God, but they were planned for, prayed for, tried for. They were gifts that we had pleaded with God to receive. They were answers to prayer.

This pregnancy is a beautiful, wonderful, welcome surprise! We did not ask for, pray for, or “try for” this baby. Neither were we trying not to get pregnant. So this pregnancy feels like an unexpected gift. I just don’t want to be unwrapping it before it’s given.

It’s the difference between asking for something for Christmas, or receiving a surprise gift. Either way, it is a gift, and either way, it is equally precious. But since God gave us this pregnancy as a surprise, I want to leave it that way.IMG_0259

So no medical intervention that is not medically necessary. And certainly no finding out the gender!

Just for fun, here is Busy Boots, who is my fourth child, and the first who looks like me. After all the comments the other three get of “Oh, they look just like your husband!,” it is so much fun to have one who looks like me.

 

Author:

Christian wife and homeschooling mother of five children, ages 2 through 10 years. Recently diagnosed with Ehlers Danlos. Trusting in Jesus for His plan for my life, and for my family. He was gracious to save my husband and myself 6 and 7 years ago, respectively. And really, He saved me just in time. Because how could I ever have handled this illness without Him?

5 thoughts on “Week 6

  1. I was the same way with my first child. I opted out of just about everything I could. I, like you, knew my baby was healthy and growing. So much of it is unnecessary with a healthy pregnancy. With the second of course I got an ultrasound and checked the heartbeat every time it was offered. I needed to know she was growing despite the fact I was emaciating.

    Good for you. Faith is a beautiful thing, so is Mommy intuition. The connection to your little unborn miracle is real and will tell you just about everything you need to know, even down to what you need to eat. It’s truly magical.

    Like

    1. I totally agree, It depends on the pregnancy. I wasn’t as emaciated as you were (I just today read your post about it) during my last pregnancy, but I did not gain any weight AT ALL until well into 7 months. I was throwing up every time I sat up, and I just had to know that the baby was growing normally, despite the fact that my belly wasn’t.

      Actually, I needed a lot of medical reassurance in my first pregnancy too, even though I wasn’t sick and everything seemed normal. My sister had experienced multiple miscarriages (she has a misshapen uterus), and her experience left me in anxiety about my own pregnancy. I wasn’t a Christian at that point, so I didn’t have God to trust in, either!

      It is such an amazing thing to grow in trust in Him and His Word, and to feel that playing out differently all the time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

