Posted in At Home, Blog

Week 7

This was a hard week. Farmer Boots has been away, all of my children have colds, and the nausea arrived.

I went to bed when the kids did. I’d wake up hearing a child coughing and wheezing, and go lie down to comfort the poor little hacker. I’d fall asleep cuddling the sick little one, and then wake up to hear another racking cough coming from another room.

I’d extricate my limbs carefully from my sleeping bedmate, then go in to comfort the next one. It was like musical beds, all night long.

When circumstances like this arrivDSCN1188e, we reduce to the most important subjects — a benefit of not taking summers off! Encyclopedia has to get his math done, and Safari has to read with me. They spent the afternoons outside, or if too cold, cutting construction paper into tiny little bits all over the kitchen table.

But!

They also became magnificent little helpers. Their dad had a talk with them when he was home last weekend, about helping out while I’m sick, and they really are doing their best. They make their beds and tidy their rooms in the morning, they clear up after meals, and they fetch things for me when I need them to. Encyclopedia cleans the bathroom, and Shiny and Safari have even been vacuuming.

And!

When Farmer Boots gets back from this trip, he will be home for a while, and on his next couple of trips, we get to go with him, so this long, busy, lonely stretch is just about over, and I am very grateful for that!

 

Author:

Christian wife and homeschooling mother of five children, ages 2 through 10 years. Recently diagnosed with Ehlers Danlos. Trusting in Jesus for His plan for my life, and for my family. He was gracious to save my husband and myself 6 and 7 years ago, respectively. And really, He saved me just in time. Because how could I ever have handled this illness without Him?

Leave a Reply

