Posted in Blog

Week 8: Counting My Blessings

1. My husband is home, home, home! September/October (and February/March) are his busy times at work, and he spends these months on the road pretty much all the time, home only for weekends. And now, things are settling down, and he’ll be working from home again, with only a few sporadic business trips here and there. What a blessing to welcome him home again. We picked him at the airport on Friday, and I decided to splurge and pay for parking so that the children could welcome him at the gate rather than just waiting outside in the car. They were so excited! Encyclopedia Boots loved navigating his way through the airport, reading the signs and checking Daddy’s flight information. “Thank you for bringing us in, Mama. This is the best day ever!”

2. I had the chance to attend an Above Rubies conference with two dear friends who live far away from me now. This deserves a post of its own, and I will write more about what I learned there later. But for now, what a blessing to have a chance to learn and grow and be encouraged in my calling as a mother. When the world tells us that children are a burden, and I fear my news of being pregnant with my fifth will be greeted with disapproval rather than joy, it is wonderful to be around a community of Christian mothers who truly have a heart for being moms of many. I was so happy to meet up with my old friends, and I was blessed to meet a couple of new friends.

3. At the end of the day, the speaker asked for the pregnant women to come up for prayer, and all the women at the conference gathered around me and the other pregnant women and prayed over us. The speaker reached out to touch my belly just as she said the words “…this child, who was destined before the foundations of the earth…” and it really spoke to me. This baby, who is a surprise to me, was never a surprise to God. Thank God that I was open to receive this blessing. How strange to think that what I thought I wanted, from aDSCN1168 little girl, was four children. How easy it would have been to stop after my four. I am so very, very blessed.

4. My children have been getting along so well, and have been working so hard at cleaning up and doing their schoolwork while their father has been away. I have not been feeling well, and it is so lovely to see them step up in compassion and do things without whining or complaining, or without me nagging at them. It is particularly nice to see them play with the baby, and keep her entertained for me while I am doing other things. They have really grown in maturity over this recent difficult time without their dad.

 

Thank you, God, for your grace in bringing us through this time so well, and thank you for bringing Farmer Boots safely home to us again.

Author:

Christian wife and homeschooling mother of five children, ages 2 through 10 years. Recently diagnosed with Ehlers Danlos. Trusting in Jesus for His plan for my life, and for my family. He was gracious to save my husband and myself 6 and 7 years ago, respectively. And really, He saved me just in time. Because how could I ever have handled this illness without Him?

One thought on “Week 8: Counting My Blessings

Leave a Reply

