Posted in Blog, Little Boots

The world beyond my apron

“Tonight, at Awana, something hurt my feelings. I asked Jason* if he wanted to be my friend, and he said no.”

And thus began one of those heartfelt conversations that only seem to happen after lights-out.

Last week, Briar*, a 6-year-old girl in Encyclopedia Boots’ Awana class, had asked him if he wanted to be friends. “Yes,” he told her, and they had a pleasant conversation. This bolstered his confidence in his ability to make friends.

“I thought since I had one friend now, I might make more friends. So I asked Jason if he would be my friend.”

“And he said no?”

“Well, actually, he said ‘No way!'”

“What did you say?”

“I didn’t say anything. I was a little bit sad, but I was also surprised!”

Encyclopedia seemed to take it in stride. He wasn’t overly emotional about it, and didn’t seem to think it was a reflection on himself, any more than a reflection on Jason’s manners.

All in all, I was proud of him. Happy that Briar had made an overture of friendship toward him, and happy that he had decided to branch out and try to make more friends from there. I was momentarily devastated to hear Jason’s reaction to Encyclopedia’s overture, but I was very glad to see that he took it so well.

This is a new world for me as a parent, this making of friends without my involvement. Previous friends have been made for Encyclopedia, just because I have been friends with the parents. He is growing up and beyond my immediate sphere. And so far, so good, I think.

* children’s names have been changed. Actually, that goes for all names on all my posts.

Author:

Christian wife and homeschooling mother of five children, ages 2 through 10 years. Recently diagnosed with Ehlers Danlos. Trusting in Jesus for His plan for my life, and for my family. He was gracious to save my husband and myself 6 and 7 years ago, respectively. And really, He saved me just in time. Because how could I ever have handled this illness without Him?

Leave a Reply

