Posted in Blog, In the Word, Little Boots, Testimony

Safari Boots: A New Five-Year-Old

Last year, my children and I worked through Leading Little Ones to God.  On a couple of occasions, as we worked through the book (particularly after his big brother was saved), I would ask Safari Boots whether he wanted to follow Jesus.  His answer was always, “Maybe later.”

So when two bleary-eyed boys emerged from their bedroom last night, stating that Safari Boots wants to be a Christian, I didn’t take it overly seriously — especially since it was not Safari who was making this assertion for himself, but his big brother making it for him. At the same time, I certainly didn’t want to discourage him in a profession of faith. So I hushed Encyclopedia Boots, took Safari on my knee, and asked him some questions, ensuring that this was something he wanted to do for himself, and that he understood what it meant.

I felt the Lord in my heart, whispering that perhaps I was taking over my husband’s position as spiritual leader here. Farmer Boots wasn’t at home in the moment when Encyclopedia made this decision, and so I had the enormous privilege of leading him in a prayer of salvation, but maybe this was his turn. So I turned Safari over to his Daddy. He asked Safari who he wanted to lead him. “You, Dada,” was Safari’s sweet reply. And I watched joyfully as my amazing husband, the leader and protector of this home, led our little son to the Lord Jesus Christ.

Thank you, Lord, for the blessings you have given this family. It is truly amazing when I look back, at the transformation you have effected in all of us in such a short time. Safari was born to an atheist father and a lapsed Catholic mother. He was just five months old when I finally embraced Christ. Since then, nothing has been the same. You have saved my husband, then our eldest son. And now, Safari too, belongs to you in a whole new way. Thank you for bringing this child to yourself, and please keep him — and all of us — always drawing nearer to you.

I wrote this post in September 2014, and just found it in my drafts folder. I post it now, so that I have this record.

Author:

Christian wife and homeschooling mother of five children, ages 1 through 9 years. Recently diagnosed with Ehlers Danlos. Trusting in Jesus for His plan for my life, and for my family. He was gracious to save my husband and myself 5 and 6 years ago, respectively. And really, He saved me just in time. Because how could I ever have handled this illness without Him?

One thought on “Safari Boots: A New Five-Year-Old

Leave a Reply

