Posted in Blog

The Waiting Room

Many kind friends and family members have been asking for an update on my medical situation, but I haven’t had one to give them. Well, here’s all I’ve got:

Tues Oct 6th: Saw my cardiologist. Secretary Lori sent requisitions for different tests to two different hospitals.

Thurs Oct 8th: Called Lori. She told me to sit tight, I will hear from hospitals directly.

Tues Oct 13th: Called Lori and left message. No response.

Wed Oct 14th, 10am: Called Lori. She told me to sit tight, I will hear from hospitals directly.

10:30am: Called first hospital. They are missing a part for the bike machine, so can’t book me for bike echo. Recommended that I have Lori book me for this test at the Heart Institute with my other tests. Why they sat on the requisition all week? Ask Kafka.

11am: Googled the Heart Institute phone number. Navigated a maze of self-serve phone options. Reached Linda, who told me that they don’t take requisitions via fax, and so they were never going to book my appointment. She told me that there have been patients waiting six months before phoning to find out that they don’t take requisitions via fax! So why don’t they fix this process? Ask Kafka.

Linda told me that Lori must call her to book the test, and I need to walk in with the requisition in hand. Linda would not call Lori herself, but she did give me her direct line so that Lori wouldn’t have to navigate the phone system that I had dealt with.

1pm: Called Lori, who told me that she was swamped, but would try to call Linda today.

If you don’t know why I feel like Joseph K, I recommend Kafka’s The Trial.

Edited to add: Tests scheduled at Heart Institute for November. It’s gonna be a long wait.

Author:

Christian wife and homeschooling mother of five children, ages 1 through 9 years. Recently diagnosed with Ehlers Danlos. Trusting in Jesus for His plan for my life, and for my family. He was gracious to save my husband and myself 5 and 6 years ago, respectively. And really, He saved me just in time. Because how could I ever have handled this illness without Him?

10 thoughts on “The Waiting Room

  1. This is maddening! And it ought to be criminal! To just let people wait for 6 months like that w/o telling them? Why have a fax number if it can’t be used. I could just scream! And I fear we in the United States will soon be smacked with this same sort of medical bureaucracy. Lord have mercy!

    My prayers are with you, Alma. Asking God to be your advocate.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How incredibly frustrating. Im glad you advocated for yourself, even though this is a time when you shouldn’t have had to! I’m just glad you got it figured out. Too often we don’t fix things because someone with a skewed vantage point doesn’t think they need fixing. The day we begin redesigning healthcare with patients in mind first will be a step towards tremendous improvement.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Bobbi. It’s really eye-opening. My experience with advocacy has never been with administration, but with front-line staff. It’s really incredible to see these systemic issues at so many different levels.

      Like

  3. I’m in the US and also went round and round with general doctor, cardiologist, surgeon’s office, and insurance company. I know some days you feel like giving up. Don’t. The end result is SO worth it, I promise.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks! I’d love to hear more about your story, like what was your condition, and how it was resolved? Did you end up having a heart surgery? It sounds like you came out well in the end, I’d love to know more! Thanks for your encouragement!

      Like

    1. Thanks. There’s really not much I can do but be positive. I’ll admit, I was pretty frustrated when I realized I was waiting for nothing. But now that they’ve made the appointments, there’s nothing to be done but sit and wait. I’m really blessed to have help at home.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so glad your test is finally scheduled. One of the women in my Bible Study Fellowship discussion group had heart surgery to repair a leaky valve 2 weeks ago. I heard she is doing well and will likely be rejoining us in another week. I don’t know if she had the same procedure that you will have, but thought you might be encouraged by her positive outcome.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am very encouraged by her positive outcome. I love hearing how many others have gone through this ahead of me, and are enjoying new quality of life on the other side! Let me know how she is when she comes back to Bible study. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

